First Impressions: Makeup Revolution Ultra Eyeshadows Palette

My cut crease needs a little work and my blending could be better, but still I absolutely love working with eyeshadows. Especially when it comes experimenting with different colours and palettes since I haven’t found one that I really love just yet. There’s a few in my collection that I like and I have my favourite colours among them but I’m still searching for that one palette that has it all. So in pursuit of this I recently bought Makeup Revolution’s Ultra Flawless Palette.

This bad boy set me back £8 for 32 shades ranging from subtle pinks to deep rich burgundys and all the transition colours a girl could need. The price for this many colours is mind blowing but no surprise as Makeup Revolution has been killing the affordable makeup game recently. Their whole range of palettes are really tempting and I have no doubt I’ll be back to test a few more very soon.

Swatching in store I was impressed but getting the palette home was when the real test began. I immediately swatched each colour and straight off the bat could tell which ones I loved and which ones I hated.

Surprisingly for me it was the shimmers that really won me over. I’m usually a matte girl but the texture and pay off from the glitters was just so stunning that I didn’t even want to wipe them off. The formula for these felt so buttery and smooth and the shine translated well even after applying onto the skin, something which I always find to be hit and miss. The glitter was subtle but striking and I immediately had ideas on how I wanted to use them.

The mattes on the other hand were just okay. For the most part the pigmentation was alright and the colour pay off was fine but they didn’t win me over quite as much as the shimmers. The lighter shades in particular were really lack lustre in that they didn’t translate well from the pan to the skin. Which was pretty devastating as some of those colours looks beautiful in the pan.

For some of the darker mattes I noticed a slightly dryer texture which made them a little more crumbly than I’d like. Fall out would definitely be something to watch out for but I feel would be worth it for the few really stunning matte shades.

Already I’m thinking about ways to use this palette and the looks I want to create with it. The formula seems really buildable but of course I’ll have to try it out properly to know for sure. I adore the colours in this palette and the tones appear to be really flattering on my pale complexion. At this price range I’m really impressed with the palette and although there are a few shades that are a bit meh I think they’re worth it for the ones a little more show stopping.

Keep an eye out for my full review in a few weeks! In the mean time let me know your favourite eyeshadow palette in the comments!

19 thoughts on “First Impressions: Makeup Revolution Ultra Eyeshadows Palette

  1. I really need to get my hands on a makeup revolution palette , everyone seems to be obsessed over them and I still haven’t tried one yet. It’s a shame the mattes aren’t the best quality but for the price you can’t really complain

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, I’m surprised this is such good value for money! I always get stressed about buying eyeshadow palettes because they’re so expensive and I just can’t give myself a good enough excuse for it, so this is great! That’s frustrating that not all of the shades were as good as you had expected, but for the price you can’t really go wrong! x

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment