Review: Mac Prep + Prime

While I feel like a bad blogger for admitting it, I’ve never been that fussed about setting sprays.

*Waits for the angry mob*

Okay, okay let me explain. Ever since my makeup obsession began I have used super long lasting formulas which would stick to my face all day no matter what. And since the main purpose of a setting spray is to help your makeup stay on I never really needed it that much. Recently I’ve been experimenting more and more with different foundations and while I have had a few hits the longevity of ordinary formulas has been putting me off making the swap permanent. Thus began my setting spray adventures, testing out any and every kind I could get my hands on.

After trying a few samples I decided to graduate to something a little more full sized and bought my first ever Mac product, their prep and prime setting spray. It is one of those cult products that everyone seems to have tried except me so I jumped at the chance /excuse to try it for myself. I’ve been using it for a little over a month now and I’ve finally got a really good handle on how I feel about it.

But first off, let’s talk facts.

A bottle of prep and prime will set you back £18, a pretty standard price for the brand. For that you get 100ml of product and if you order online a few handy samples as well. After using it on and off for these past few weeks I’ve barely scratched the top layer of the bottle since a little goes a long way. So while initially I thought this was a little pricey, considering how long it will last me I aint mad.

DSCN0597

An intriguing claim of this setting spray is that it can also be used as a primer. I love a good 2in1 but always find they fall short and this wasn’t an exception to the rule. While my face did feel refreshed after a few pumps it really didn’t do much to add it at the beginning as well as the end. If, like me, you have blemishes or skin complaints this will do nothing to help smooth those out or settle them down. As far as primer goes there are a lot better and cheaper options out there to be had.

As a setting spray on the other hand this is one of the best I’ve tried.

My makeup looks flawless the entire day after just a few squirts of this in the morning. Even when using a less reliable foundation I’ve been continually impressed by the way it just glues everything to my skin. It helps minimise shine throughout the day, allowing me to forgo that midday touch up that can sometimes make me look cakey.

The scent is barely there which is perfect if, like me, you have sensitive skin. Drying down takes just a minute or two and it always give my face a fresh glow that sits right in the middle of matte and dewy. I did notice on one occasion that it clung to a small dry patch but for the most part it worked well to hydrate my skin and keep it looking natural.

This is definitely one of my favourite setting spray yet. And while it doesn’t quite deliver on all of its promises I can forgive its sins for the unbelievable job it does at keeping my makeup looking the same from dawn till dusk. It really helps you go the distance while leaving cakey makeup a thing of the past.

My setting spray journey has just begun, so what would you recommend I try next? Let me know in the comments.

11 thoughts on “Review: Mac Prep + Prime

Leave a Reply

