DIY Coffee-Coco Body Scrub

When we think of skincare we generally forget that it means all of our skin and not just the face. I know that I spend so much time (and money) making sure my face is soft and blemish free the rest of me is kind of an afterthought. Recently however, I’ve gotten more into making my own products and as such decided to make a few that focus on other areas outside of my face.

My last sugar scrub recipe went down really well, I got a few DM’s from people who tried it and loved it, and so I thought I’d make another. This recipe is totally different from the last as I’ve really geared it towards treating the body. Issues like congested skin, infected pores, and ingrown hairs will all be history with regular use.

After a few months of experimenting I decided to use coffee as my base ingredient as it is proven to work well as a skin exfoliant. It also contains antioxidants which are amazing for making your skin look tighter and brighter.  Along with the coconut oil, this combo leaves you moisturised and softened without the price tag of a store bought scrub.

In fact after doing the maths, this scrub comes in at just 97p.

Stored in an air tight container this scrub has a shelf life of about 6 months, and with regular use a full jar usually lasts around a month and a half to two months.

 

You’ll Need:

230g Ground Coffee

220g Granulated sugar

3 Tablespoons Coconut Oil

1 Tablespoon Olive Oil

2 Teaspoons Cocoa Powder

DSCN0568

To Do:

Heat the coconut oil in a bowl until it has melted completely, allowing it to cool slightly before mixing in your olive oil. Grind your coffee into smaller crumbs (you can leave it if you want a more coarse scrub) and add into the oils along with the sugar. Check the consistency, it should drop easily from the spoon but not be too liquid, adjust if necessary by adding more oil or sugar. Sprinkle in the cocoa powder before giving it a final stir.

Pour the mixture into an air tight container making sure to seal it at the end. I would suggest using some type of scoop or spoon to use the scrub as getting any water inside will damage the integrity of the product.

 

After about three weeks of using this specific recipe I can definitely see a difference in my skin. My legs in particular are a lot smoother and the hair follicles appear a lot less darker than they were before, no more strawberry legs for me.

Let me know in the comments if you try this out and how it went for you!

3 thoughts on “DIY Coffee-Coco Body Scrub

Leave a Reply

