DIY Rose Water Toner

 

Toners are an essential part of any skincare routine. They’re that last little step to ensure your skin is free of any excess oils, dirt and grime that you might have picked up throughout the day. They also help to declog your pores of any makeup, leaving you fresh faced and clean.

I’ve been using toners as a part of my routine for about three years and to be honest I was getting sick of paying for them. Cheap toners always contained alcohol or other harsh chemicals that irritated my sensitive skin and the more expensive ones became less worth it as I was constantly having to buy another bottle. So I decided to make my own.

This recipe is tried and tested and I can honestly say it one of my favourite, if not best, DIY’s I’ve ever done. Not only is it super easy to make, it’s also cheap at about £1.50 a bottle.

Roses are an amazing ingredient to use on your face. The natural oils provide super hydration and intense calming which helps diminish redness and irritation while gently cleaning the skin. I’ve tried this recipe with a wide range of roses (this batch was made from a £2 bunch from Aldi) and can say that apart from a slightly weaker scent, cheaper roses work perfectly fine and cuts the costs even more.

So enough hyping and onto the recipe.

You’ll need:

A bunch of roses

Witch Hazel

Honey ½ teaspoon

Distilled water

Essential oil of your choosing (Optional)

To do:

There’s no exact science to this recipe, hence why I haven’t used any specific measurements, it’s all about looking and judging for yourself.

First of all you’ll want to make your rose water, which is very simple but takes a little time. Pick the petals off the rose and place them in a pan. Pour over the water till it just about covers the roses. If you’re unsure always put in extra as it’s better to have a weaker solution than not enough. Bring this to the boil before turning it down onto a very low heat. Leave the roses to steep over the heat for 45 minutes to an hour. Then using a fine sieve or cloth separate the petals from the water before leaving the solution cool completely.

In a spray bottle add a few drops of your essential oil; my favourite is Lavender, before adding your rose water till about 3/4 full. Fill up the rest of the bottle with Witch hazel and add in a drop of honey and you’re good to go!

I like to spray this directly onto my skin but using a cotton ball would work just as well.

 

Making  your own skincare is not only fun, but also allows you to see what you’re putting onto your skin night after night. This DIY has saved me a lot of money and has also become one of my favourite products I use.

What are some of your favourite toners? Let me know in the comments.

 

P.s Any leftover rose water can be frozen to be used at a later date.

12 thoughts on “DIY Rose Water Toner

Leave a Reply

