Review: Garnier Micellar Cleansing Gel

Micellar water has been my makeup remover of choice for the past few months and since using it I’ve seen a big difference in my skin. As always I have my ear close to the ground on new beauty products so when I heard that Garnier were releasing a micellar gel I was so excited to try it. I got it a week or two after its release and have been trying it out ever since to get a good idea of what the product is like and how it compares to the original water.

Garnier micellar water is one of the best on the drugstore market and it’s an old reliable I use daily, so I wanted to see if this new product could match up and maybe even surpass the original. A 200ml bottle will set you back £3.99 which is quite a good price as gel goes a lot further than water. There are always deals on with Garnier so I’d recommend shopping around to find yourself a bargain; I bought my first bottle for half price in Superdrug which was a nice little find.

If you’ve read any of my previous reviews you’ll know that I am very sensitive to smells so I was happy to find that this doesn’t really have a scent. It very faintly has that swimming pool smell but only a tiny bit and it doesn’t linger once you’ve put it on your skin. To apply I dampen my face take one pump of product and rub it in small circular motions to break down the makeup. I have noticed that in order to really work I need two pumps of the gel, whereas using the water I usually use 4 soaked cotton pads.

DSCN0452

Using double wear is a bit of a curse in that it stays on forever but is a bugger to get off. Surprisingly this does it in seconds, with no harsh scrubbing or rubbing needed. The gel simply cuts through the layers of foundation and concealer leaving me feeling fresher and cleaner. It is marketed as an all in one cleanser, but I would still probably use my own cleanser afterwards to ensure that all the makeup and dirt is removed.

Where this struggles is the eyes. Not only does it take ages to remove mascara in particular (I’ve lost a few lashes from trying) it also stings the eyes causing irritation. It’s not the worst reaction I’ve had but I was definitely disappointed as the product specifically says it can be used to remove eye makeup.

Despite this I am still really impressed with this product. It definitely stands up to its predecessor and I can see it becoming a part of my regular routine. My favourite thing about it is how gently it removes makeup, there’s no need to use cotton pads or wipes I can just buff away the dirt with my finger tips. Perfect for those of us with sensitive skin that can be set off with the smallest touch.

I’ll probably continue to use this alongside regular micellar water which can remove my eye makeup without a problem. At this price point and quality you really can’t go wrong, and I’m excited to see what Garnier come up with next.

 

How do you take off your makeup? Let me know some of your favourite products in the comments!

7 thoughts on “Review: Garnier Micellar Cleansing Gel

  1. I keep looking at this when I go shopping but there’s something that makes me feel weird about using a gel? Haha! I currently use either Clinique take the day off balm or simples micellar water and love them both! Xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

