8 Ways to use Coconut Oil

 

Coconut oil is one of my favourite beauty staples. I’ve been using it for years and its versatility never fails to amaze me. It seems whatever ailment I might have, coconut oil can fix it. Back in the day it was hard to get a hold of outside speciality shops, but now it’s widely available in supermarkets and for a bargain. Recently I picked up a jar for just £3.50 (I used to pay £10+) so it’s perfect if you’re on a budget.

There are so many uses for coconut oil, but here are a few of my favourites.

1.Enhance hair treatments

By adding just a tablespoon of coconut oil to your regular conditioner it will help to moisturise and strengthen your hair. Even a small amount can make a big difference and you should start to see the effects almost immediately after every wash.

2. Overnight Treatment

Coconut oil works great as a part of a hair mask, but to really deep condition you can use it as an overnight treatment. Just saturate your hair in the oil, pop on a shower cap then go to sleep. In the morning make sure to wash it all out with shampoo and your hair will be left shiny and moisturised.

3. Eyebrows

Help to fill out those sparse brows by applying a little coconut oil every night. I started doing this a few months ago and my eyebrows have really filled in after years of over plucking. Not only that but the quality of the hair has also improved too.

dscn0164

4. Oil pulling

In one of my very first blogs I talked about oil pulling as a dental treatment to promote good oral health and whiten teeth. During my research I fell in love with oil pulling and now do it once a week. It involves swishing the oil around your mouth for upto 30 minutes which pulls out toxins and bacteria, whitening and brightening your smile.

5. Makeup remover

Nothing cuts through makeup like coconut oil. Applying the tiniest blob of it will help break down stubborn eye makeup and thick foundation. Just make sure you wash off any residue.

6. Highlighter

A few dabs on your cheekbones and you will be glowing all night. This is perfect in a pinch when you’ve run out of highlight or just want a more natural glow.

7. Add to DIY face masks

I loooove adding coconut oil to my DIY masks. No matter what the mixture, every mask would benefit from adding a little coconut oil. This really helps to moisturise your face and keep it supple.

8. Shaving cream

I’m always running out of shaving cream when I need it most. Using coconut oil not only helps the shaver glide into every nook and cranny, it also helps to moisturise the area and can prevent ingrown hairs.

There are hundreds of ways to use coconut oil. It has been my beauty secret for the longest time and I’m so happy more and more people are discovering it. Do you use coconut oil? What are your favourite ways to use it?

38 thoughts on “8 Ways to use Coconut Oil

  1. Interesting information. I need to try oil pulling. I use coconut oil for my hair all the time and the results are amazing. I’ve tried it with food and it was on point like after a few swallows.

    Like

  2. Omg. I used coconut oil as an overnight mask. Never. Again. Lol. It literally would not come out. Even with the handy trick of applying shampoo before water AND even using washing up liquid! I looked like I’d stuck my head Ina chip fryer for about three days. Any tips for getting it out better? x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no! To be honest because it’s an oil it can be a bugger to get out so my advice would be to use it sparingly. Instead of using it straight as a mask on its own combine it with other ingredients, I have a few recipes on the blog if you want to have a look. Let me know how you get on if you try one hopefully it’ll go a lot better than before! Xo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve used egg yolks too and that’s a good one. Trouble is, you can’t wash it out with too hot water as you end up with scrambled egg hair 😂😂😂 it hasn’t happened to me but can you imagine!!

        Like

      2. Oh god yeah I’ve heard of that before! Nightmare. My avocado mask has been a big hit and I love it, it uses coconut oil but just a little so it’s no overly greasy. If you do want to use just straight coconut oil I’d just use it on the ends very sparingly 🙂 hope that helps! Xo

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I recently made a DIY face scrub using coconut oil and loved it! I’ll definitely try some of your suggestions! Thanks! X

    Like

  4. I have really curly hair so I always make sure I use products with coconut in but perhaps I’d better try just some pure coconut oil now! X

    Like

  5. I just cook with it and I go through jars of the stuff. My mum swears by it for her skin. I think it is a massively versatile product and will be trying some of these ideas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

