My Skin Saviour: DIY Green tea & Vanilla sugar scrub

Sugar scrubs are a part of my everyday routine. I use it on my body in the shower, on my legs post shave and on my lips before applying makeup. It’s phenomenal at buffing away dry or dead skin leaving you feeling fresh and soft. But they can quickly become expensive, especially if you use them as often as I do.

So I challenged myself to develop my own recipe, something which worked as well as the name brands but without the price tag. And after going through 10 or so batches playing with ingredients and quantities I’ve finally found one which brightens, smoothes and softens my skin even better than store bought.

Its super simple to make and works out at about £1.50 a batch, so it’s a win win.

 

You’ll Need:

  • 3 Tablespoon Coconut oil
  • 1 Tablespoon Olive oil
  • ½ Tablespoon Honey
  • Half of one lemon
  • 2 Teaspoons Vanilla
  • 1 bag of Green tea
  • 250g Sugar

 

To do:

Heat the coconut oil in a bowl till it becomes liquid and then stir in your olive oil. Combine this with your honey and the juice of ½ a lemon. Rip open your tea bag and add the contents to the mix along with your vanilla. Pour in all of the sugar and stir well for a few minutes. The consistency should be thick and hold together well, if you find that it is too runny just add a touch more sugar until you get the desired effect. Place the scrub in a jar with a lid, screw on tightly and you’re all done!

I like to keep my scrub in the fridge but it isn’t necessary as the honey works as a self preservative. This scrub has a shelf life of upto 4 weeks, but I find that it lasts me about 3 with regular use.

If you give this recipe a go let me know what you think in the comments! As always thanks for reading and keeping up with W&A.

Until next time,

-L

3 thoughts on “My Skin Saviour: DIY Green tea & Vanilla sugar scrub

Leave a Reply

