January hits and misses

January has come and gone in the blink of an eye. So with February just around the corner I thought I’d take stock of all my beauty purchases this month and decide which ones were hits and which ones were misses. I’ve made some new favourites this month but I’ve also been surprised by a few brands whose products didn’t live up to their usual standards.

Hits

Nip + Fab Dragon’s blood fix hyaluronic shot

This has absolutely saved my skin this winter. After hearing great things through the grapevine I was dying to get this and so it went straight on my Christmas list. I was so happy when I received it but didn’t end up using it till a few weeks ago and I’m already obsessed. It can be used as an addition to your usual moisturiser or as a targeted overnight treatment. The overnight treatment is perfect for when your skin is a bit lack lustre and needs perking up. It has definitely become one of my faves.

Real techniques metallic brush range

First of all, these brushes are beautiful. If you’re really into the metallic trend, like me, then you’ll love them. The range of brushes is really nice and I would say it lands at a good price point for the quality. My favourite among the pack is the powder brush. Its soft hairs disperse powder evenly while not leaving you looking cakey. The only downside is it makes my other brushes look incredibly boring.

L’oreal Infallible mattifying primer

A good primer is always hard to find, so I was ecstatic when this one actually did as it promised. It leaves skin silky smooth, the perfect foundation for your makeup. I actually bought this by chance as L’oreal had a promotion running at the time, but I’m so happy that I did as it’s become a firm favourite over the past month.

NYX HD Finishing powder

When you’re ghostly pale it can be hard to find a good powder to bake with. Every other powder I’ve tried adds more pigment and leaves me with uneven colouring, a problem I don’t have with NYX. This translucent powder is finely milled making is super soft and easy to apply. Since I started using it my makeup has lasted longer and looks  picture perfect from start to finish.

L’Oreal Paris Pure clay glow mask

I’m a bit of a snob when it comes to masks. If I’m not making them myself, I prefer to use more expensive brands as an occasional treat for my skin. So when L’oreal released a set of clay masks I was dubious at first. But having their glow mask for the past few weeks I can happily say that all of my fears were unfounded. The mask doesn’t dry out my skin but leaves it feeling nourished and tightened. I will definitely be investing in the rest of the range.

Misses

Nivea 2in1 cleanser and toner

2in1’s have always appealed to my lazy side, but let’s face it they hardly ever work. The same can be said for Nivea’s 2in1 cleanser and toner. It neither cleansed nor toned my skin whenever I used it and the harshness of the formula made my skin flare up in bright red blotches. I was so excited about this product but it’s going to be yet another for the fail draw.

Lush Ultrabland cleanser

Another failed cleanser this time by Lush. Usually I have nothing but nice things to say when it comes to Lush, but this cleanser really let me down. It’s apparently one of their best sellers so you can imagine my dismay when I tried it for the first time and hated it. I’ve given it a few chances but the oily consistency just doesn’t work as a cleanser and I feel that it clogs rather than cleans my pores.

Max factor colour corrector stick in Green

Tackling redness is one of my biggest issues when I apply makeup. I missed out on the colour correcting trend earlier last year but I thought I’d give it a go when I was given the Max factor colour corrector as a gift. At first I was optimistic, but it didn’t take long for my dreams of an even skin tone to be dashed. Even when applied lightly, this just clumped and caked together and made it impossible to blend out. It’s definitely put me off colour correcting. Well, at least for now.

Revlon ultra HD matte lip colour

I love a strong matte lip so its no surprise that my lipstick collection is slightly obsurd. That didn’t stop me however from buying the Ultra HD matte lip from Revlon. The colour was beautiful, as was the smell, but the formula was just awful. Usually with a matte lip product you worry that it will be quite drying, but that is furthest from the truth with this. The consistency is so sticky and wet that it just doesn’t dry down and gets everywhere. Forget about clean lines, this just smudges all over your face.

 

So those are the highlights of my purchases this month both bad and good. There were a tonne more that I could have included but then this post would have been 6 pages long. For every bad product I tried there were at least three that made up for it so I’ll never be discouraged in trying new things.

What were some of your favourites this month? Let me know in the comments!

-L

12 thoughts on “January hits and misses

  1. Real Techniques brushes are so dreamy! I need to get my hands on some more.

    I’m glad I came across this post as I was going to include the Lush Ultrabland cleanser in a giveaway… may have to rethink!

    Like

Leave a Reply

