Review: Estée Lauder’s Double Wear Foundation

At a glance:

Long lasting

Perfect for combination or oily skin types

Good coverage

Expensive (£31)

One bottle doesn’t last as long as you’d think

Difficult to apply (no pump)

 

Estee Lauder’s double wear foundation is on a pretty high pedestal. Branded as “the UK’s number one foundation” it’s a firm favourite among makeup artists and amateurs alike. But is the foundation really as good as it says it is, or is it the product of clever marketing?

To find out I popped down to my local Boots and bought a bottle for myself. The foundation comes in 39 shades in an array of colours and tones, so finding one that matched my pale skin was easier than expected. I left Boots 20 minutes later with a bottle of Double wear in the shade 1CO shell.

As it was so expensive I was quite reserved about using the foundation at first, only allowing myself to wear it on special occasions. That didn’t last very long. I soon fell in love with the formula and couldn’t resist working it into my daily routine and so I began to use it for my base almost every day.

My favourite thing about this foundation is how flawless it makes my skin look. Even though it’s described as only medium to high coverage I’ve found that it’s more of the latter as even the most difficult of blemish is hidden away under one coat. I have always had discolouration on my face, couple that with my sensitivity and redness it’s quite difficult to find something with the gusto to help diminish all those things at once. Happily, I can report that this foundation does.

Another thing that secures double wear as the nations favourite is its notorious ability to stay on your face. Something which I was initially a bit dubious about, but boy was I proven wrong. I’ve danced, jogged and even done yoga with this foundation on and regardless of the activity it just doesn’t budge. With other foundations my oily t-zone will wipe out what coverage I have within a few hours, whereas with this I am matte and smooth throughout the day.

But unfortunately it’s not all good news and while double wear comes close, a perfect foundation just doesn’t exist.

My biggest complaint, and it’s a common one, is that it doesn’t come with a pump. This makes using the foundation a lot harder as you have to pour it directly onto your brush or beauty blender, often leaving you with too much or too little. At this price point I would expect a little more thought to have gone into this aspect and I was very disappointed when I tried to use it for the first time.

Another problem that I’ve found is that the foundation isn’t as buildable as others that I have tried previously. The long lasting formula makes the foundation stick to your skin quite quickly so if you try to layer it up it pulls off the previous layer rather than adding to it. This can make it look patchy and uneven. I also have to handle this foundation a lot quicker than normal as I don’t want it to set into the skin before I’ve had the chance to blend it out.

That being said, if this is the price I have to pay for such a long wearing foundation then I’m happy to pay it.

All in all I’d say Double wear lives up to the hype. The quality and texture of the foundation really allows it to cover and conceal any blemishes to give you an airbrushed finish. It’s one of the pricier things in my makeup bag, lord knows I love a bargain, but if I were to splash out on anything I’d happily make it my foundation. I can see why so many people fall in love after just a few uses and I’m excited to see what else the Estee Lauder brand has to offer.

What are some of your favourite foundations? Let me know in the comments!

-L

2 thoughts on “Review: Estée Lauder’s Double Wear Foundation

Leave a Reply

