#FoodieFriday: Gooey Oreo Brownies

I have been obsessed with baking ever since I was a little girl. It’s relaxing, entertaining and best of all you get to enjoy so many yummy treats afterward. Over the years I’ve started to develop my own tried and tested recipes which have become staples and I wanted to share them with you so they could become yours.

This week I decided to whip up some Oreo brownies, a crowd favourite in my house. A tray of these only make it three days around my family and I always find myself making extra to compensate. It’s a really easy recipe to follow, with fool proof methods that mean even the worst cook could knock out the perfect batch.

You’ll need:                  

400g Caster Sugar

220g Melted butter

65g Cocoa Powder

2 Tbsp Instant coffee powder

1 Drop of vanilla extract

4 Eggs

220g Self-rising flour

2 Packs of Oreos

To Do:

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees and grab yourself a bowl. Pour in your caster sugar and melted butter and stir together until combined. Next, sieve in the cocoa powder and coffee and fold into the mix. Add in your eggs one at a time along with a drop of vanilla extract. Once they have all been added, sieve in the flour at a height before stirring well, making sure there are no lumps or air pockets in the brownie batter.

Pop your Oreos in a freezer bag and hit with a rolling pin till they crumble (best stress relief ever) don’t worry if there are any big chunks. Tumble in the cookie pieces and fold them in. Finally, pour the mixture into a lined baking tray and place in your pre-heated oven for 25 minutes for a crispy outer shell and gooey middle. Leave to cool in the oven for at least an hour before you serve.

I find that this recipe makes around 16 pieces, but feel free to cut them into whatever size you like. They’re particularly nice served warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream for an extra indulgence or simply on their own with a nice cup of tea.

Let me know if you try out this recipe I’d love to see your versions!

-L

Leave a Reply

