Easy-Peasy DIY hair mask

Bank holiday blues has officially set in and my body is finally paying me back after days of alcohol and junk food. Post hangover I am feeling a little worse for wear and the same can definitely be said for my hair. After the blow drying, straightening and styling this week my locks have just about had enough.

*Enter my favourite hair mask

My DIY avocado mask is my beauty essential when my hair is feeling a little dull and overworked. It’s made from all natural ingrediants and nourishes your hair when it needs it most. This mask has saved me from countless bad hair days and in the long run I really believe that it has prevented my hair from excess damage.

And the best part is that all of these ingrediants can likely be found in your average kitchen!

What you’ll need:

.1/2 Avocado

.1/4 Lemon

.1 Egg yolk

.1 Tablespoon of Honey

.1/2 Tablespoon of coconut oil

.1/2 Tablespoon of Extra virgin olive oil

14203028_10209514175667967_530852708_o

To make the mask, first slice your avocado in half and place into a blender before whizzing to a smooth consistency. To this add you oils, lemon and honey before yet again blending to a smooth paste. Finally add the yolk and stir in making sure that everything is well combined.

(Side note, if you don’t have a blender don’t stress! Just use a fork to mash up the ingrediants)

Work the mixture into your damp, but not wet, hair before allowing it to sit for 20-30 minutes. All the time you need to file your nails or watch some Netflix. Once it has all soaked in remove the shower cap and wash your hair as normal.

What you’ll be left with is smooth, shiny hair that has a lotta life back in its roots. This mask has saved my life on more than one occasion and it’s so worth the 10 minutes it takes to make.

Have you tried my avo-mask, how did it work for you? Let me know in the comments below.

 

-L

Leave a Reply

