Dental fads: What’s the deal with oil pulling?

I’ll be honest; my teeth are a solid 6/10. Not the straightest, not the whitest but still not so bad that I look like I’m fresh off the Jeremy Kyle stage. Teeth are more important than you might think, recent studies suggesting that people with a brighter smile are perceived to be smarter, more successful and will probably get more dates.

With that in mind it’s no wonder that there are thousands of products on the market with the intention to gives us those perfect gnashers. A lot of them, however, use chemicals that with continued use can actually damage our teeth, stripping them of enamel and leaving them dull and discoloured.

So when I discovered an all natural solution swirling around the blogosphere I jumped at the chance to give it a try. Oil pulling has been around for hundreds of years, but has recently started to gain a lot of traction online. The purpose of oil pulling is the rid your mouth of harmful bacteria and toxins to improve the overall health and appearance of your teeth and gums. Prevention is always cheaper than the cure, especially if you price up a dental bill.

My go to oil of choice is always coconut. Coconut oil is now widely available and has such a wide variety of uses I’d definitely recommend having a pot or two around the house. The flavour is also more bearable than most other oils, but can take some getting used to.

To start I take a teaspoon of coconut oil and melt it in the microwave. Coconut oil has a low melting point so it won’t take very long. I then pour the liquid oil into my mouth and begin swishing it around, pulling it through my teeth. You want to do this for about 20 to 30 minutes to really feel any benefits. The consistency and urge to swallow does take some getting used to. It took me a couple of tries to get a good rhythm going, but once I did the whole process became a lot easier.

After a few minutes you’ll notice an increase in the amount of oil. This is because the oil has begun to collect all of the toxins and is why I recommend you start off with a small amount of oil. Once your 20 minutes is up spit the oil directly into a bin or some tissue, DO NOT spit into your sink as this can cause all sorts of problems with your plumbing.

What you’ll be left with is a brighter, cleaner smile and if done on a regular basis that will only improve. I oil pull once a week and have noticed a big improvement to my teeth, they might’ve even gone up to a 7/10!

Have you tried any crazy dental hacks? Let me know in the comments!

-L

One thought on “Dental fads: What’s the deal with oil pulling?

Leave a Reply

